Podgorica (Serbo-Croatian pronunciation: [pɔ̝̌dgɔ̝ri̞ʦa]; English: /pɒdɡɒˈriːtsə/ pod-gorr-ree-tsə; Montenegrin: Podgorica, Подгорица, lit. "under the small hill"), is the capital and largest city of Montenegro.

Podgorica's favourable position at the confluence of the Ribnica and Morača rivers and the meeting point of the fertile Zeta Plain and Bjelopavlići Valley has encouraged settlement. The city is close to winter ski centres in the north and seaside resorts on the Adriatic Sea.

A census in 2011 put the city's population at 151,312. The Podgorica Municipality contains 10.4% of Montenegro's territory and 29.9% of its population. It is the administrative centre of Montenegro and its economic, cultural and educational focus.

The name Podgorica means "under the Gorica" in the Montenegrin language. Gorica (meaning "little hill" or hillock) is the name of the cypress-covered hill that overlooks the city centre.

Some three kilometres (1.9 miles) north-west of Podgorica lie the ruins of Doclea, a town known in Greek, pre-Roman and Roman times. The Roman Emperor Diocletian came from this region. In later centuries, Romans "corrected" the name to Dioclea, guessing wrongly that an "i" had been lost in vulgar speech. "Duklja" is the later (Slavic) version of that word.

When founded (before the 11th century), the town was called Birziminium. In the Middle Ages, it was known as Ribnica. The name Podgorica was used from 1326. From 1946 to 1992, the city was named Titograd in honor of Josip Broz Tito, the former President of Yugoslavia.

In the 19th century the city used the arms below, showing a ruin. It represents Doclea, the ruins of the ancient Roman city on which Podgorica was built. The first name of Montenegro was Duklja (Doclea).


The previous arms were adopted in the 1970s. The composition represents the Monument of a Partizan Fighter and the Queen Milena's bridge over the river Ribnica.


Current coat of arms