Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 67 total)
  • Author

Anonymous

I started playing CKII again as pagan Bulgaria. Braise Tengri.
    This is significant, because I used to shy away from Bulgaria, because the Byzantines would inevitably kick my arse withing the first 10 years and make me cry and rage, as they (mistakenly) consider everthing south of the Danube rightful Byzantine clay.
    Anyway.
    I decided I needed a more radical approach this time.
    Consider this as something of a walkthrough.
    Your first ruler is Khan Telerig, who’s pretty bad in every way except espionage.
    Your demesne is Moesia with capital Trnovo (not histrically accurate, but hey).
    Your heir is, surprize, Krum.
    Who has mad skills and is in posession of the duchy of Karvuna.
    So, if your dude were to die, you’ll get a great heir, and both the duchies of Moesia and Karvuna.
    How do you make your khan die though? Well, you’re a filthy pagan, they have these periodic human sacrfices and stuff, so instead of sacrificing an annoying courtier or a prisoner, you can have him cut his own appendage or pluck and eye or something.
    But first – also as a pagan you get to annex a whole country once in life for free (politically speaking).
    Likewise, the dude has pretty good spying skills, so I did two things before I killed him:
    a) annexed Serbia.
    b) Imprisoned one of the other pretenders to the throne for fun and profit (they’re annoying)
    He died of infection.
    So, even though I have a good leader now, and twice the amount of troops, I’m still very much the underdog. What do?
    Well, you’re a pagan, you can raid the fuck out of Thrace and Macedonia. Just wait until the Basileus is busy curb-stomping the arabs and disband your merry band of looters and pillagers as soon as he brings the doomstacks in your vicinity.