• This topic has 3 voices and 4 replies.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Anonymous

To Russian Officers – From a Ukrainian Officer

[IMG]http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/xq90/834/9twq.jpg”/>

Source: Blog at Echo Moskvy
    Translated by Voices of Ukraine

Long ago, back in 1988, I took an Oath to serve the Soviet People.

My grandfather and father were officers – one in the Red Army, the other in the Soviet Army.

Today, I’m a Ukrainian officer who took an Oath to serve the Ukrainian People. My tag bears my ID number, and above it, the letters still say ‘USSR Internal Troops’. I didn’t change my ID number, and I will keep it as long as I live.

Today, I am talking to you, senior officers of the Armed Forces of the Russian Federation, who have the right to send other people’s sons to die, while you remain in relative safety.

We, the Ukrainian people, are going through difficult and hungry times now, as we are recovering from the revolution while economic ruin wracks our country. But none of us, not even in our worst nightmares, could ever imagine that Russia would stab us in the back. Stab us after placing the knife in your hands.

Forget the tales of Churkin and Lavrov, Shoygu and Kiselev, Putin and Solovyov. Even on the morning of February 27, it was clear for me and the majority of Ukrainians, that the unthinkable has happened – the Russian army started an invasion of Ukraine.

Don’t you, Russian officers, feel ashamed of yourself and of your commanders as you send your soldiers to the territory of a different state, with weapons in hand but without insignia? Are you not terrified by the thought that from this day forth, Ukrainians will never think of you, and of all the Russian people, as friends? By the thought that criminals were brought to power in Crimea, lifted high by Russian bayonets? By the fortitude of my brothers in arms in Crimea, who chose the only correct tactic – not a single shot fired at the Russians?