• This topic has 7 voices and 9 replies.
Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

Anonymous

Ahoj everyone! 

Is there as we know any differences genetically with Rusyns to other Slavic groups despite feeling that way as a motive for independence?

Ďakujem!

Anonymous

There are genetic differences between other Slavs too, so it’s impossible for Rusyns to be just like everyone else, when everyone else is not the same. But I’d say Rusyns are the least different from Western Ukrainians, it’s my guess however – I am not an expert on genetics :/

Anonymous

So your basically saying that all Slavic groups are genetically different from one another?

Anonymous

Not only that, but even individual people are genetically different from one another!
    Mind – blown!

Anonymous

Yes.

Anonymous

Rusyns are genetically closest to west Ukrainians and east Slovaks. Also they overlap with south east Polish people. I have a lot of rusyn gedmatch kits and east Slovak ones, there’s basically no difference between them. And btw northern slavs (west and east) plus slovenians and croatians share a lot of genetic heritage, but they differ in the fact that they are mixed with some factors the others aren’t. Croatians have a lot of north eastern european blood but also balkanic blood that north slavs don’t have etc. 

Anonymous

Rusyns and west ukrainians ( also east Slovaks) are characterized by having high amounts of balkanic ancestry compared to other northern slavs 

Anonymous

srdceleva  western and southern Slavs have a lot of southern genetical influences, former less then later obviously, but in any case you can not judge by a haplogrups since it is more then a minimal sign of a mix we have among us.

Anonymous